21 N Nevada Ave                   719.634.9099

Youth and Pebbles Coaches

I joined the CityROCK team in June 2022. My job is to help create and run the Pebbles program, and to run youth programs. You may also see me at the Beta Center, coaching Boulders, and periodically serving at The UTE.

I got into climbing waaay back in the 1900’s in an outdoor program through my high school.  Later, I delved into climbing in my early 20’s with my then hubby.  We climbed outside here in Colorado and as our children grew they, too, climbed with us. I took a bit of a hiatus from climbing and have recently returned to it.    

When I’m not climbing, I enjoy anything that places me outside under this amazing Colorado sky.  I am generally creative and love to make things with my hands and I super enjoy teaching children.  Seeing the world through the lens of a child reminds me that we all have experienced the awe of what this planet provides for us naturally everyday. I also make gnomes…Yes, gnomes!  Not your regular garden variety, but sewn handmade minis that reflect themes of seasons, botanicals, and folklore. 

A fun fact about me that I can share is that I adore my dog Arlo and I think he’s fond of me.  I am fascinated with the way humans interact and are influenced by their environment.   Whether it be indoors or outdoors, the relationship people have with their environment plays an important role in their daily lives and mental health.  I love mathematics, art, mythology, and fiber arts.  

I do love making and eating simple homemade breads, soup, and tamales. But really, any food that is being shared and enjoyed is awesome. I especially love curry, fresh figs, sauerkraut, and most pickled anything…. but not all on one plate! 

One thing on my bucket list is to live a year abroad. I think it is important not only to travel but to spend time in different regions.  Allowing one’s self to become immersed in a different culture is vital to continual personal growth. This type of experience helps to develop perspective and appreciation not only for the world at large, but also for what is considered home. 

I grew up in the mountains of North Carolina and went to business school at Appalachian State University. After college, I moved out to Colorado and took a job in management, but soon after, started climbing and found that I was having much more fun on the walls than sitting behind a desk. So, now my business is climbing. I manage kids on the wall, and I have a great time doing it!
When I’m not climbing or teaching people how to, you can find me on various outdoor adventures throughout the world: snowboarding, backpacking, canyoneering, etc.- the list goes on and on. I’m a movie guy, I’m really into the Grateful Dead, and I’m planning on moving to the northern shore of the Mediterranean one of these days– I have to get tired of climbing first, though!
Stop by the gym to say hello sometime!